This morning, I was watching the news. I rarely do that as I can barely get out the door in time for my bus, let alone have time to see what else is happening in the world. Anyway, this morning I was watching the news with a cup of tea, seeing if anything interesting was going on in that odd world that I happen to live in. In the news, I saw a story of a little toddler who got hit by a car. His mother rushed out into the street and he wasn’t breathing nor was his heart beating. Then, a random guy came out to the street and started praying over him. A few minutes later the baby was alive again. Did the mans praying to God (assuming there is one for the time being) or was it just a coincidence that the baby started breathing right after he was prayed over?

At first it amazed me. It stupefied me. It made me wonder. I think I should watch the news more.

Then, this morning in second period class my teacher was like literally in fetal position on the front table because he was sick and just generally feeling crappy. I found this an opportunity to see if prayed could really heal. I found someone in my class who was some sort of Christian and we blessed his tea which he was drinking at the time. I said something along the lines of

“Oh dear father, please give our teacher the strength that his body needs to heal his sickness and regain his health. Art Father who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name. Thy Kingdom come, thy will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day our daily bread and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil, for thy is the kingdom, the power, and the glory forever. Amen.”

Heh. Yes, this was in front of the whole class. Most of them just sat there and watched the girl and I bow our heads as I prayed that. A few assholes laughed, but hey, there’s always going to be a blue jay or two in a flock of cardinals.

That’s how I was taught to pray back when I was in like preschool. Word things so that you’re not just saying “Yo, my man Gawd, gimme some sugar for my baby, mmk?”. Although you could pray like that, as you could pray anyway because you personally are talking to God and can’t be forced to do that in one way or another (assuming your in the Christianity religion and happen to live in a country that doesn’t shoot you for having different beliefs). But I was taught to thank god for what I have, and not to ask for generally “stuff” but to ask him to help me achieve it or get it. For example, above I said something like “help his body” as opposed to “Make him not sick any more”.

I’ve actually been thinking a lot about religion lately; my father and I were in a semi heated debate just a few moments ago about Purgatory and if a person doesn’t know God will they be saved. I know that no one will ever know whose saved and who is not as God (assuming I believe in God and that he’s real) is the only one who gets to decide. Us humans can’t decided if someone goes to Heaven or Hell, as it’s Gods home and he gets to decide who comes in. I heard a story about a man who sinned all his life, but in his final moments of life he admitted and did a form of repentation and was saved. Amen.

Back to the prayed over the tea; I’ll tell you tomorrow if he got better (to kind of give me a better final idea if the whole praying thing works.). Though, it may not work. I have read a lot of the bible, and hope to read all of it one day, and have read somewhere that it states not to test God. You can’t say “If you’re really their God, then when I just off this building, make me grow wings before I hit the ground”. Nien, it says in the Christian bible that God doesn’t work like that, that if you try to test our that he’s there that he won’t do anything. It’s like how you can’t make a deal with God.

Last year I read a series called “Anne of Green Gables”. It’s a classic. (I’d recommend the series to anyone by the way, it’s amazing.) One of the little girls prays to God and says that he does or helps __ that she’ll be nice to her sister, go to the cemetery at midnight, walk around on one leg for a week, clean the dishes every night for a year, read one book of the bible everyday for a year, and things of that nature. It worked out well for her at first, as she got the idea when she prayed to heal someone and said if she did she would never be mean to him/her again, and he/she healed. She figured then that by making deals of that nature with God that she can get things by doing that.

Wait, I’m testing by praying over his tea to see if praying works. Does that will mean that it will not work just because I did it mostly to test to see if this works? Or since I made it a legit prayer that it will heal him? Or will he see through the half legit prayer and not help me with that prayer? Oh gosh, this is so confusing sometimes. Ah well, I’ll just have to see tomorrow.

Peace out ;)

